The University of Texas at Austin

Campus Visits

A visit to campus is one of the best ways to learn about the university's academic programs, student services, and community life. We encourage future students and their parents to register for an Engineering Information Session to learn more about the Cockrell School and the university.

Campus Visits

When registering online, students also register for an official campus visit led by a freshman admissions counselor to give students the inside scoop on admissions, housing, financial aid and other important topics. Separate information sessions are held for both prospective and admitted students, followed by a student-led tour of campus.

Register to Visit Us Now!

Engineering Information Sessions

Information sessions for prospective freshmen are typically hosted on Fridays or Mondays from 2:00 to 3:30 p.m. An academic advisor from the Engineering Office of Student Affairs leads the sessions. Students and parents receive information about the different engineering degrees offered, as well as information about student services.

Students customize their campus visits by registering online through Be a Longhorn. Dates and times may vary. Students are asked to arrive at the scheduled location 15 minutes before their meeting. Students may call the Student Affairs Office at (512) 471-4321 for more information or to make a reservation for the Engineering Information Session by phone.

Click to see the Spring 2014 Schedule
Monday Jan. 6, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm POB 2.302
Friday Jan. 10, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm CPE 2.218
Friday Jan. 17, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Friday Jan. 24, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Friday Jan. 31, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Friday Feb. 7, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Friday Feb. 14, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Monday Feb. 17, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm CPE 2.220
Friday Feb. 21, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Friday Feb. 28, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Friday March 7, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Monday March 10, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm POB 2.302
Friday March 14, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm POB 2.302
Monday March 17, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm POB 2.302
Friday March 21, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm POB 2.302
Friday March 28, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm POB 2.302
Friday April 4, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Friday April 11, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Friday April 18, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Monday April 21, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm POB 2.302
Friday April 25, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Friday May 2, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Friday May 9, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm POB 2.302
Monday May 19, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm POB 2.302
Friday May 23, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304
Friday May 30, 2014 2:00 - 3:30 pm WEL 2.304

Individual Department Meetings by Appointment 

The following departments offer individual appointments with students and their families:  Aerospace Engineering; Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering; Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering; and the Equal Opportunity in Engineering program.  Students are highly encouraged to attend a Cockrell School Information Session before scheduling an individual appointment with a department.  View department information 

Residence Hall Tours

The campus residence hall staff offers tours to introduce prospective students to living on campus. These tours are a chance to learn how the Division of Housing and Food Service provides positive living experiences through wellness programs, leadership opportunities, and group learning. Visit residence hall rooms, academic community centers, study lounges, dining centers, and more.  No registration required.  View the residence hall tour schedule   

Explore UT 

Visit us during the university's annual open house and participate in any of the nearly 400 events, activities, performances, exhibits, lectures, and demonstrations for the entire family.  Learn about engineering, hear from professors, participate in hands-on activities led by student organization leaders, and more. The event is free, no registration required.  Create your own Explore UT schedule  

Admissions Center Visit

The university maintains admissions centers on campus, around the state, and in New York City, staffed by admissions professionals who work with and meet with prospective students and their families.  To attend an information session in your local area, view the list of UT Austin Admission Centers.

Customize Your Visit

 

How to Apply

Visit the Undergraduate Admissions page to learn more about applying to the Cockrell School of Engineering.

FAQs After Admission

Why the Cockrell School? Find out what we have to offer you!  Browse the FAQs for answers to specific questions.

Be a Longhorn