Campus Visits & Tours

A visit to campus is one of the best ways to learn about the university's academic programs, student services and community life. We encourage future students and their parents to register for an Engineering Information Session to learn more about the Cockrell School and the university.

Campus Visits

You can register for an official campus visit led by a freshman admissions counselor to give you the inside scoop on admissions, housing, financial aid and other important topics. Separate information sessions are held for both prospective and admitted students, followed by a student-led tour of campus.

Register to Visit Us Now!

Engineering Information Sessions

Information sessions for prospective freshmen are typically hosted on Fridays or Mondays from 2:00 to 3:30 p.m. An academic advisor from Engineering Student Services (ESS) leads the sessions. Students and parents receive information about the different engineering degrees offered, as well as information about student services.

You can customize your campus visit when you register online. Dates and times may vary. Please arrive at the scheduled location 15 minutes before your meeting. You may call ESS at 512-471-4321 for more information or to make a reservation for the Engineering Information Session by phone.

Click to see the Spring 2016 Schedule
Friday Jan. 22 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Monday Jan. 25 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Friday Jan. 29 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Friday Feb. 5 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Friday Feb. 12 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Friday Feb. 19 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Monday Feb. 22 2:00 - 3:00 pm PHR 2.110
Friday Mar. 4 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Monday Mar. 7 2:00 - 3:00 pm PHR 2.110
Friday Mar. 11 2:00 - 3:00 pm WEL 2.304
Monday Mar. 14 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Friday Mar. 18 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Friday Mar. 25 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Monday Mar. 28 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Friday Apr. 8 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Monday Apr. 11 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Friday Apr. 15 2:00 - 3:00 pm WEL 2.304
Friday Apr. 22 2:00 - 3:00 pm WEL 2.304
Friday Apr. 29 2:00 - 3:00 pm WEL 2.304
Monday May 2 2:00 - 3:00 pm PHR 2.110
Friday May 13 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Monday May 16 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Monday May 23 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Friday May 27 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302
Tuesday May 31 2:00 - 3:00 pm POB 2.302

Individual Department Meetings by Appointment 

The following departments offer individual appointments:  Aerospace Engineering; Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering; Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering; and the Equal Opportunity in Engineering program.  Students are highly encouraged to attend a Cockrell School Information Session before scheduling an individual appointment with a department.  View department information 

Residence Hall Tours

Get an inside look at what it's like living on campus by touring one of the residence halls.  These tours are a chance to learn how the Division of Housing and Food Service provides positive living experiences through wellness programs, leadership opportunities and group learning. Visit residence hall rooms, study lounges, dining centers and more.  No registration required.  View the residence hall tour schedule   

Explore UT 

Visit us during the university's annual open house and participate in any of the nearly 400 events, activities, performances, exhibits, lectures and demonstrations for the entire family.  Learn about engineering, hear from professors and participate in hands-on activities led by student organization leaders. The event is free, no registration required.  Create your own Explore UT schedule

Admissions Center Visit

The university maintains admissions centers on campus and around the state, staffed by admissions professionals who work with and meet with prospective students and their families.  To attend an information session in your local area, contact the UT Austin Admission Centers in your area.

Customize Your Visit

After Admission

Browse the FAQs for answers to specific questions.