Transportation Research Board recognizes UT engineer

     The National Research Council's Transportation Research Board named Dr. C. Michael Walton, professor of civil engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, as the recipient of the W.N. Carey, Jr. Distinguished Service Award.

     The Carey award recognizes individuals who have given outstanding leadership and service to transportation research and to the Transportation Research Board.

     Walton's research focuses on Intelligent Transportation Systems and freight logistics in addition to transportation engineering, planning economics and policy analysis. He is also a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

     The Certificate of Award will be presented in January at the Transportation Research Board's Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C.

     The mission of the Transportation Research Board is to promote innovation and progress in transportation by stimulating and conducting research, facilitating the dissemination of information, and encouraging the implementation of research results. The board was organized in 1920 and is a unit of the National Research Council, which is the principal working arm of the corporate institution that includes the National Academy of Science, the National Academy of Engineering and the Institute of Medicine.