Sharma recognized by national organization

     The Society of Petroleum Engineers selected Dr. Mukul M. Sharma of The University of Texas at Austin for its Formation Evaluation Award. Sharma is a professor in the Department of Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering and holder of the W.A. (Tex) Moncrief Jr. Centennial Chair in Petroleum Engineering.

     This national award recognizes significant technical contributions in well logging and rock physics, the most common ways of measuring the saturation of oil and gas in underground reservoirs. Sharma's research seeks to improve exploration and production of oil and gas.

     Society of Petroleum Engineers' President D.A. Craig said Sharma earned the annual award because of “his commitment to the society and the petroleum engineering industry, and specifically, for his contributions in the areas of coring fluids, electrical, acoustic and flow properties of rocks.”

     Sharma will receive the award at the society's Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition in New Orleans on Sept. 28.