National Academy of Engineering elects two UT faculty to membership

     Two University of Texas at Austin engineering professors received the engineering profession's highest honor when they were elected to the National Academy of Engineering on Feb. 13. The College of Engineering now has a total of 39 faculty who are NAE members.

     Academy membership honors those who have made “important contributions to engineering theory and practice, including significant contributions to the literature of engineering theory and practice” and those who have demonstrated “unusual accomplishment in the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology.”

     "We now have more National Academy of Engineering members teaching on our faculty than any other engineering school in the country except Stanford, MIT, and Cal-Berkeley," Dr. Ben Streetman, dean of the College of Engineering, said. "We're extremely pleased to offer this high level of professional expertise to our students and our research programs."

     David W. Fowler, civil engineering professor and the T.U. Taylor Professor in Engineering, was recognized for the development and application of concrete-polymer materials.

     Mary F. Wheeler, professor of aerospace and petroleum engineering, was honored for the computer simulation of subsurface flow and the underlying mathematical algorithms. She is the director of the Center for Subsurface Modeling and holder of the Ernest & Virginia Cockrell Chair in Engineering. Wheeler was one of two women among the 91 elected to membership this year. She is also one of 44 women among the 1,941 NAE members.