Chemical Engineering Department No. 1 for NSF Fellowships

The McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering boasted more National Science Foundation (NSF) Fellowship recipients than any other chemical engineering department nationwide for 2013. Twelve McKetta students recently received NSF Fellowships to support their graduate studies, nearly 42 percent more than runner-up University of California, Berkeley.

“We are so proud of these talented students who are honored by prestigious NSF fellowships based on their academic track records and their visions for impactful engineering research,” said Tom Truskett, chair of the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering.

The highly competitive fellowships provide support for three years that includes annual stipends of $30,000, full tuition, medical insurance coverage, opportunities for international research and professional development and TeraGrid Supercomputer access.

The oldest fellowship of its kind, the award helps ensure the vitality of the human resource base of science and engineering in the United States and reinforces its diversity. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited U.S. institutions.

The 2013 class of Graduate Fellows come from 434 baccalaureate institutions, 50 more than in 2010, when the program began awarding 2,000 fellowships each year. Forty percent of the new Graduate Fellows indicated interdisciplinary fields of study. The most popular primary fields of study are life sciences and engineering, reflecting 29 percent and 25 percent of fellowships, respectively.

The Cockrell School's recipients from the chemical engineering department are:


  • Julie Fogarty
  • Ashty Karim
  • Ahmad Omar
  • Rebekah Scheuerle
  • Lea Sorret
  • Brian Wilson
  • Dmitriy Zhukov

Graduate students

  • Sonali Chopra (Ekerdt Group)
  • Philip Liu (Willson Group/Korgel Group)
  • Krystian Perez (Edgar Group/Baldea Group)
  • Douglas Pernik (Korgel Group)
  • Sean Wood (Mullins Group)