Cockrell School of Engineering professor Yale Patt has been honored by The Franklin Institute with the 2016 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Computer and Cognitive Science. He is receiving the medal for his “pioneering contributions to the design of modern microprocessors that achieve higher performance by automatically identifying computer instructions that can be performed simultaneously.”

Patt, a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) and an international authority on computer architecture, with a particular emphasis on microprocessor design and function. In 1965, he introduced the WOS module, the first complex logic gate, or logical operation, implemented on a single piece of silicon. Two decades later, he and his students developed the HPS (high-performance substrate) microarchitecture, a design that is incorporated in almost every microprocessor used today.

“Over the decades, Yale introduced several disruptive innovations in computer architecture and CPU design,” said Ahmed Tewfik, chair of the electrical and computer engineering department. “His work is embedded in every tablet, smart phone and computer we use.”

Patt has been recognized with many international awards for his groundbreaking work in computing, including the Eckert-Mauchly Award in computer architecture from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society. In 2014, he was elected to the NAE for his contributions to high-performance microprocessor architecture. Patt is also a fellow of IEEE and the Association for Computing Machinery.

Additionally, Patt is passionate about teaching, having been a professor for nearly 50 years. He joined The University of Texas at Austin in 1999, after teaching at the University of Michigan, UC Berkeley, and Cornell, among other institutions. With one of his former students, he wrote the textbook “Introduction to Computing Systems: From Bits and Gates to C and Beyond,” which is used by more than 100 universities worldwide in introductory computing classes for undergraduate students. He has received numerous recognitions for his dedication to teaching, including the international Karl V. Karlstrom Outstanding Educator Award.

“The Franklin Institute Awards is one of the most important ways we continue the strong legacy set forth by Benjamin Franklin,” said Larry Dubinski, president and CEO of The Franklin Institute. “These are some of the greatest minds and most influential pioneers of our time who are recognized here in Philadelphia for their accomplishments that will no doubt impact each and every one of us in some way, at some time. They are the Franklins of today, who will certainly help inspire the Franklins of tomorrow.”

Patt will be presented with his Franklin Medal in April at a weeklong celebration of The Franklin Institute Awards recipients. Located in Philadelphia, The Franklin Institute is a leading science and technology museum and center that was founded in 1824 in honor of Benjamin Franklin. The annual Benjamin Franklin Medals are presented in the following disciplines: chemistry, computer and cognitive science, earth and environmental science, life science, physics, and civil, electrical and mechanical engineering.</p

January 17, 2019

Beloved Longhorn and Chemical Engineering Legend John J. McKetta Jr. Dies at 103

John J. McKetta Jr., professor emeritus and dean emeritus at The University of Texas at Austin and namesake to the chemical engineering department in the Cockrell School of Engineering, died Tuesday, Jan. 15 at age 103. Calling UT Austin ... Keep Reading

January 14, 2019

Remembering Former Texas Engineering Dean Earnest F. Gloyna (1921-2019)

Earnest F. Gloyna, former dean of The University of Texas at Austin’s College of Engineering (now the Cockrell School of Engineering), died on Jan. 9 at the age of 97, leaving behind a legacy marked by exceptional leadership and ... Keep Reading

January 03, 2019

Two UT Engineers Elected to National Academy of Inventors

Hal Alper, professor in the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering, and Alex Huang, professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, have been selected as fellows in the prestigious National Academy of Inventors (NAI) for 2018. They are the ... Keep Reading

cover of Texas Engineering magazine with group of students
cover of Texas Engineering magazine with group of students