Professor John Goodenough Named 2011 National Medal of Science Recipient

January 03, 2013
Photo of Dr. Goodenough

John Goodenough, professor at the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, is one of 12 eminent researchers who will receive the 2011 National Medal of Science.

The National Medal of Science is the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government upon scientists, engineers and inventors. President Barack Obama announced the award recipients on Dec. 21, 2012.

Goodenough, who holds the Virginia H. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering, has made lasting contributions to materials science and technology. He is best known for developing materials critical to the development of lightweight and rechargeable lithium-ion batteries. Goodenough is a professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

University of Texas Professor of Chemistry Allen Bard was also named an award recipient. Goodenough and Bard will receive their awards at a White House ceremony in early 2013.

“I am proud to honor these inspiring American innovators,” President Obama said.  “They represent the ingenuity and imagination that has long made this Nation great—and they remind us of the enormous impact a few good ideas can have when these creative qualities are unleashed in an entrepreneurial environment.”

The National Medal of Science was created by statute in 1959 and is administered for the White House by the National Science Foundation. Awarded annually, the Medal recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science and engineering. A committee of Presidential appointees selects nominees on the basis of their extraordinary knowledge in and contributions to chemistry, engineering, computing, mathematics, or the biological, behavioral/social, and physical sciences.