News Releases

  • Two Engineers Elected Fellows of National Science Organization

    A chemical engineer and a mechanical engineer from the Cockrell School of Engineering, along with a neuroscientist, a molecular biologist and a pharmaceutical researcher who are all faculty members at The University of Texas at Austin have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

  • Texas Engineer Recognized for Impact on Society

    Adam Heller, a chemical engineering research professor and professor emeritus in the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, has been awarded the 2014 Service to Society Award from the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE).

    The award recognizes outstanding contributions by a chemical engineer to community service and to the solution of socially oriented problems. Heller is being honored for his invention of medical devices that have improved the quality of life of millions of people suffering from diabetes and other diseases worldwide.

  • Engineering Student Becomes Second UT Austin Rhodes Scholar for 2015

    University of Texas at Austin student Sai Gourisankar, a senior majoring in the Plan II Honors program and chemical engineering, has been awarded a 2015 Rhodes Scholarship, one of the most distinguished graduate scholarships in the world. The honors student from Fort Worth becomes the 30th UT Austin student to receive the award and the second this year.

  • Professor Awarded $1.6 Million DOE Grant for New Hydraulic Fracturing Tool

    Cockrell School of Engineering professor Mukul Sharma has received a $1.6 million grant from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) to build and test a tool that could become a game-changer for hydraulic fracturing. The downhole tool could one day be used in fracture diagnostics to improve oil and gas recovery, reduce costs and help minimize the environmental footprint.

  • Energy Sector Innovation Brings Top Prize for Mechanical Engineer

    Cockrell School of Engineering professor Vaibhav Bahadur and his team took home the top prize at the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) R&D competition for the development of a new electrical technology that could ensure uninterrupted oil and gas production in challenging environments. Bahadur and his team received the award at the 2014 SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition in Amsterdam, Netherlands.