News Releases

  • ECE Assistant Professor Recognized as Young Innovator With Packard Fellowship

    The David and Lucile Packard Foundation has selected the Cockrell School of Engineering's Zheng Wang as a 2013 Packard Fellow for Science and Engineering.

    Wang is one of 16 of the nation’s most innovative young scientists and engineers receiving the Packard Fellowship this year. Each Packard fellow will receive a grant of $875,000 over five years to pursue research.

  • UT Austin Awarded $1.7 Million USDOT University Transportation Grant

    The United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) has awarded The University of Texas at Austin $1.7 million in grants to advance cutting-edge research and educational programs that address critical transportation challenges facing the nation.

    Austin will be used as a test site for many of the projects, which will use “big data” and innovative wireless technologies to address traffic congestion.

    “These are complex societal challenges that require researchers from multiple fields to come together to harness the full potential of advances in technology. This grant makes that collaboration possible,” said Chandra Bhat, director of the university’s Center for Transportation Research.

  • Schlumberger Gives $500K for Student Organization Center Inside EERC

    The Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin has received a $500,000 boost from longtime supporter Schlumberger Limited for the Engineering Education and Research Center (EERC), a project that will better prepare students to become 21st century engineers.

    The Schlumberger Student Organization Center will house more than 80 student organizations, which are focused on providing community, services and educational programs outside of the classroom. The student center will provide more than 2,000 square feet of space to existing organizations, including the Society of Women Engineers, Student Engineering Council and the Texas Society of Professional Engineers.

  • CAEE Department Inducts 10 Distinguished Alumni into Academy

    Ten alumni from the Cockrell School's Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering will be inducted into the department's Academy of Distinguished Alumni on Oct. 25. The 2013 honorees have been recognized for expertise in their fields, research and education advancements and strong leadership qualities.

  • Professors Advance Nanoparticle Research for Health Applications

    For years, scientists have been working to fundamentally understand how nanoparticles move throughout the human body. One big unanswered question is how the shape of nanoparticles affects their entry into cells. Now researchers have discovered that under typical culture conditions, mammalian cells prefer disc-shaped nanoparticles over those shaped like rods.

    Krishnendu Roy, who is now on faculty at the Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering at Georgia Tech and Emory University, conducted this research at the Cockrell School of Engineering in collaboration with professors S.V. Sreenivasan and Li Shi of the Department of Mechanical Engineering.