News Releases

  • UT Austin Research Will Help Cities Rebuild After Earthquakes

    Researchers from The University of Texas at Austin are conducting a study that will help a city rebuild after a string of earthquakes, thanks to a boost from the U.S. National Science Foundation and the government of New Zealand. The knowledge gained could one day help set building codes in earthquake-prone areas in the United States and abroad.

    This summer, two faculty members and two graduate students from the Cockrell School of Engineering are conducting field research in Christchurch, the second largest city in New Zealand, where six powerful earthquakes hit in 2011.

  • UT Austin Alumni Host Texas 4000 Cyclists on Ride to Fight Cancer

    UT Austin alumni Tom and Shannon Fallon hosted students from The University of Texas at Austin who are on the 2014 Texas 4000 team. Texas 4000 cyclists ride for 70 days, covering more than 4,000 miles across the country to share hope, knowledge and charity in the fight against cancer. In the past two years, Texas 4000 organization has also given $340,000 to the Cockrell School's Department of Biomedical Engineering.

  • Cockrell School Alumna Wins Texas Young Engineer of the Year Award

    Angela Lang Matthews, who graduated from the Cockrell School of Engineering in 2002, has been named the 2013 Young Engineer of the Year by the Texas Society of Professional Engineers (TSPE).

  • New Program Abroad Gives Students Work Experience in Barcelona, Shanghai

    Engineering and business students at The University of Texas at Austin now have a way to gain professional experience overseas in two of the world’s most dynamic cities, thanks to a new summer internship abroad program.

  • Nanoelectronics Center at UT Austin Receives $7.8 Million Award

    The Semiconductor Research Corporation (SRC) and the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) awarded The University of Texas at Austin a five-year, $7.8 million nanoelectronics award.

    The award will go to fund novel, ultra-low power transistor research at the South West Academy of Nanoelectronics (SWAN) 2.0 at the Cockrell School of Engineering. This is the second such award from the SRC and NIST collaboration. In all, SRC-NIST awarded three multi-university research centers for the second phase of its Nanoelectronics Research Initiative (NRI). The initiative includes participants from the semiconductor industry, such as IBM, Intel, Micron Technology, GLOBALFOUNDRIES and Texas Instruments.